Skip to main content


About Team 2020

Team 2020 has been charged by MIT’s senior administration with examining options and making recommendations about the upcoming academic year to help inform the final decisions by President L. Rafael Reif and other members of the senior administration.


Define all the switches that need to be turned off (to scale-back operations) or turned on (to return to different increased density operational states), and some sensible order for doing so, under different scenarios. Vice President for Open Learning Sanjay Sarma and Chair of the Faculty Rick L. Danheiser are co-leading a separate group to think about longer-term implications for MIT (the 2021 Task Force). The two efforts will be linked because some of the operational decisions this summer and fall will have long-term implications, and some of the long-range scenarios will reach back to the here and now.

Primary Objectives

  1. Enable MIT to respond in a nimble manner to support our mission, values, and the needs of the moment during this rapidly changing crisis.
  2. To forecast the key decisions that need to be made, by whom and when, and to bring these to the senior team, Academic Council, and other stakeholders as appropriate (and also to the 2021 Task Force team who will consider long-term implications).


Name Title
Anthony Sharon (Lead) Interim Deputy Executive Vice President
Ian A. Waitz (Lead) Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate and Graduate Education
Ramona Allen Vice President, Human Resources
Suzanne Blake Director, Emergency Management
Rick Danheiser Chair of the Faculty
John Dozier Institute Community and Equity Officer
John Fernandez UG Head of House convener
Dahlia Fetouh Office of the General Counsel
Ron Hasseltine Assistant Provost for Research Administration
Joe Higgins Vice President for Campus Services and Stewardship
Ceasar McDowell Prof of the Practice of Civic Design
Doreen Morris Assistant Provost
Suzy Nelson Vice President and Dean for Student Life
Krishna Rajagopal Dean for Digital Learning, Open Learning
Alberto Rodriguez Grad Associate Head of House
Sanjay Sarma (ex officio as Team 2021 lead) Vice President for Open Learning
Stu Schmill Dean of Undergraduate Admissions & Student Financial Services
Mark Silis Vice President, IS&T
Cecilia Stuopis Medical Director & Head, MIT Medical
Kate Trimble Senior Associate Dean & Director, Office of Experiential Learning
Kate Weishaar FYE Program/Project Coordinator, Office of the Vice Chancellor